Veranstaltungen im Methodenbereich 4

Events of Method Area 4

Meeting
MathSEE Method Area 4 Meeting

Michael Maier-Gerber (IMK-TRO):

Statistical-dynamical forecasts of tropical cyclone activity

 

Nicole Bäuerle (STOCH) & Uwe Ehret (IWG):

HYbrid, NETwork-based modelling of HYdrological systems (HY-NET)

 

Sebastian Lerch (STOCH), Julian Quinting & Christian Grams (both IMK-TRO):

Probabilistic weather regime prediction: Combining physical models and generative machine learning

 

When: 5th October, 12 - 2 PM

Where: Online in Zoom

 

Dial In Information: Zoom Link

Meeting-ID: 629 5966 8343

Kenncode: 377076

Zoom Link

Method Area 4

Stochastic modeling, statistical data analysis and forecasting

The research activities in MB 4 focus on applications to forecasting, with preexisting, strong ties between mathematical scientists and meteorologists within Transregional Collaborative Research Center “Waves to Weather” (CRC TRR 165), and leading to the recent creation of a junior research group on "Artificial Intelligence for Probabilistic Weather Forecasting". We continue to develop methods for the generation and evaluation of weather forecasts, with the aim of developing the best forecasting systems possible. 

Conversely, the encountered applied challenges stimulate and inform theoretically and methodologically oriented research on the foundations of predictive science, and particularly on the evaluation of predictive performance, with close ties to current developments in machine learning.

Similarly, in a Helmholtz Association supported project on "Scalable and Interpretable Models for Complex and Structured Data" (SIMCARD) we tackle data science challenges in meteorology and epidemiology. In view of new societal challenges, attention on this project has shifted to the scientific response to the coronavirus pandemic, including the development of the German-Polish COVID-19 Forecast Hub (https://kitmetricslab.github.io/forecasthub/forecast) and associated methods for the generation and evaluation of epidemiological ensemble forecasts.

Spokesperson for Method Area 4

Young Investigator Group Leader

News from Method Area 4

trockenebodenOxfam International
How can we rely on AI?

Statisticians from HITS, KIT, and Heidelberg University introduce the new "CORP" approach to better determine the reliability of forecasting methods. CORP also has an impact on machine-learning methods in general. The paper was published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS).

 

More Information

Methodenbereich 4

Stochastische Modellbildung, statistische Datenanalyse und Vorhersage

Die Forschungsaktivitäten im MB 4 konzentrieren sich auf Anwendungen für die Vorhersage, wobei bereits starke Verbindungen zwischen mathematischen Wissenschaftlern und Meteorologen im Rahmen des Transregio-Sonderforschungsbereichs "Waves to Weather" (CRC TRR 165) bestehen, was zur kürzlichen Gründung einer Nachwuchsgruppe "Künstliche Intelligenz für die probabilistische Wettervorhersage" führte. Wir entwickeln weiterhin Methoden zur Erstellung und Auswertung von Wettervorhersagen, mit dem Ziel, die bestmöglichen Vorhersagesysteme zu entwickeln. 

Umgekehrt stimulieren und informieren die angetroffenen angewandten Herausforderungen die theoretisch und methodisch orientierte Forschung zu den Grundlagen der Vorhersagewissenschaft und insbesondere zur Bewertung der Vorhersageleistung, mit enger Anbindung an aktuelle Entwicklungen im maschinellen Lernen.

Ebenso werden in einem von der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft geförderten Projekt zu "Skalierbaren und interpretierbaren Modellen für komplexe und strukturierte Daten" (SIMCARD) datenwissenschaftliche Herausforderungen in der Meteorologie und Epidemiologie angegangen. Angesichts neuer gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen hat sich die Aufmerksamkeit in diesem Projekt auf die wissenschaftliche Reaktion auf die Coronavirus-Pandemie verlagert, einschließlich der Entwicklung des deutsch-polnischen COVID-19 Forecast Hub (https://kitmetricslab.github.io/forecasthub/forecast) und damit verbundener Methoden zur Generierung und Bewertung epidemiologischer Ensemble-Prognosen.

Young Investigator Gruppenleiter

Sprecher für Methodenbereich 4

Aktuelle Meldungen aus Methodenbereich 4

trockenebodenOxfam International
Prognosen auf dem Prüfstand

Statistiker aus dem HITS, dem KIT und der Universität Heidelberg haben ein neues Verfahren ("CORP") ​entwickelt, mit dem die Zuverlässigkeit von Prognosemethoden besser diagnostiziert werden kann. Dieser Ansatz ist auch bei der Methodenentwicklung im maschinellen Lernen relevant. Die Studie ist jetzt in den "Proceedings der National Academy of Sciences" (PNAS) erschienen.

Mehr Information